For the Love of Buttons!

I love buttons.  I get excited seeing a jar of random buttons, all the colours and shapes.  I wonder what the buttons were on before they landed in my possesion.  I wonder how old they are, what their purpose was etc.  It’s a strange obessesion really and this morning I found a reason to get my buttons out to use them. :)

I had received a bunch of clothes from a friend, for my daughter.  one of the items in the bag was a pair of plain white tights.  My daughter wore them the very next day and promptly put a hole in them.

I let her wear them for a while like that and then decided today, as I was doing some mending, that perhaps I should attempt to fix them.  Embellished tights are really popular on the runways right now, though I have yet to really see them on anyone in the normal world.  I felt this would be the perfect thing to fix the hole in the tights and to use my buttons.  I googled embellished tights first to get some inspiration.  Cocorosa’s tutorial had caught my eye a few months back and it was one of the top hits when I did my google search.  Park and Cube has a cute one too.

Anyhow, I gathered my materials:

Parker’s tights with the hole in them
thread and needle
buttons
plastic water bottle
scissors

DSC_1051

I started by sorting out the buttons I wanted to use.  I have a thing for green and pink right now and I had lots of those button colours so I sorted them out and put the rest away for another day.

In order to start mending the hole I needed something hard to put in the leg of the tights so that it would stretch it out a bit as well as keep me from stitching through both layers of the leg.  This is where the water bottle came in.  I put it in the leg of the tights where I wanted to put the buttons.  Then I threaded my needle, made a knot and started stitching on buttons.

DSC_1062DSC_1065DSC_1066

Once I finished mending the hole and had more buttons on the leg I decided to have my daughter try them on so I could see how it was looking.  I then marked some more spots to put buttons.

DSC_1067

And voila! Tights are as good as new and they look pretty cool too!

DSC_1068DSC_1069

DSC_1070

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elizabeth on October 27, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Those are so cute!

  2. Posted by rabbitstylenews on October 28, 2009 at 5:15 am

    I remember loving buttons growing up, picking up handfuls and letting them slip through my fingers back into the tin. We always kept them in old round metal tins that used to hold Christmas cookies and the like. This makes me want to get a jar of old buttons and then actually use them, like you’re doing here. Not on tights, though, something about the look kinda grosses me out a little for some reason, I don’t know why. I do like the pink & green together, however!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

