Make Do and Mend!

I have a degree in Fashion Design and over 20 years sewing experience so I assure you that I provide quality work.  I am a stay at home mom to two active children and I work part-time at the local fabric store.  I’m located in the city of Kitchener, Ontario.

With todays economic state and people being laid off or losing their jobs, money isn’t as readily available as it used to be.  One of the ways we can tighten our financial belts is to stop spending our cash on expensive new clothes and start looking in our already bulging closets to make do with what we have.

We are all guilty of keeping items of clothing that don’t fit, might fit someday, or hold fond memories for us no matter how outdated that garment is.  In addition we tend to toss out perfectly good clothing because the hem fell out, they are too long/short, or have a stain/tear somewhere.

This is where I can help.  There is no reason to get rid of the majority of these pieces of clothing, even that horrible bridesmaid dress your best friend made you wear back in the 90’s.

Hems, missing buttons, broken zippers and even ill fitting clothing can be fixed as good as new and usually for less than the cost of new clothing.  Out-dated fashion can be revived with a little re-construction know-how and your kids clothing can be adjusted to last them through at least 2 growth spurts.

I read once about how changing the drawer pulls on your kitchen cupboards proves an affordable, yet amazing, way of refreshing the look of your kitchen.  The same holds true for your clothing.  Sometimes a simple change of buttons on a favourite jacket is enough to make it look completely new!

In addition to the basic alterations people generally need, I can create new clothing too.  I can use commercial patterns or I can draft a new pattern when necessary.  If you are planning a wedding, need new pieces for your wardrobe or are on a dance/skate team, I can help create new garments to fit a variety of shapes and sizes.

If you are looking for something special for your child or need a special gift for an expecting mom I create a variety of children’s clothing using new, vintage and recycled fabrics.  My specialty is reconstructed children’s clothing.  For example I create a really cute denim and fleece jacket for ages NewBorn to size 4 using a pair of preloved jeans (perhaps your own preloved jeans would be perfect for this!).

And what if you want to do it yourself?  Well, I can help with that too.  I offer basic sewing skills classes in my home, one on one.  I teach simple fix-it-yourself skills like how to replace a button, hem a pair of pants etc.  I charge a per hour rate and classes can be scheduled based on your availability.  You need to have acess to a portable sewing machine if you plan to learn skills that require a machine.  Let me know what you want to learn and I’ll let you know if I can help you. 🙂

I like to think that I offer both an economical and environmental solution to looking fashionable.  😀

Leave a Reply

