Dress Update #2.5

OK, just a quickie today.  I’m super busy for the weekend but wanted to show you the fabric I’m using for the coloured area’s of the dress.  My friend gave me this piece of plaid taffeta that is so amazing in colours.  I can’t wait to get the dress together so i can start adding this fabric to it.  I am also trying to think of ways to embellish the dress.  Since the lace is pretty much destroyed and removing it has left some tiny holes that need to be covered up,  I was thinking of making a design using very skinny bias strips of the plaid fabric to embellish the bodice and skirt.  Another thought I had was to make fabric flowers.  I want to do something light and fluttery so I found this tutorial by Reese Dixon and I think it would be perfect.  I am definitely going to give this a go and even if I don’t use it for the dress, I’ll have some pretty awesome fabric flowers to decorate something else with.

I have to add some length to the skirt as well so I’m hoping I will have enough fabric to make a wide hem.  I think that is about it for now.  Keep visiting for more updates over the next few days!

0502091104aThis picture really doesn’t do the fabric justice.  The colours are so much deeper and richer than they appear here.

Leave a Reply

