If the shoe fits…+ TUTORIAL

I bought my daughter a pair of dressy shoes at the grocery store.  It was convenient and they were cheap (about $12).  Not too long after wearing she scuffed the toe and I guess the urge to peel the vinyl was too great for her to resist.  As we drove in the car I heard a noise something like tape being ripped off.  When I turned around to see what it was, she had already torn off most of the toe of one shoe and was working on the other.  needless to say I was not happy, they may have been cheap shoes but they were still new!

DSC_0087

So I took them to work with me to see how I could possibly fix them.  I looked at fabrics, ribbons, and buttons.  I thought about glitter.  I finally settled on a string of sequins after watching a co-worker cut some for a customer.  I decided to just cover the toes of the shoes and not make it a bigger project than it needed to be.  Here’s how I did it:

Equipment used:
Shoe Goo (any heavy duty glue would work but this is meant specifically for shoes and I thought it was appropriate.)
Toothpick
scissors
approx. 3 meters of pre-strung sequins

First I scored the vinyl on the shoes with my scissors at a point I wanted to remove the vinyl to.  This probably isn’t necessary but since they were already peeled most of the way I figured I might as well finish the job.  However I’m sure you could just glue over top of whatever fabric the shoe is made out of.  I also cut off the bow that was on the shoe and saved it to put back on later.

DSC_0093

Next was to take the Shoe Goo and, using the toothpick, applied it to the toe of the shoe.  You could probably use super glue or another really strong glue but shoe goo is specifically for repairing shoes (I got mine at Rona I think) and it also doubles as a protective coating.  I just used enough for each strip of sequins so that it didn’t end up drying out before I got to it.

DSC_0094DSC_0095

I made sure that each strip of sequins were going the same direction.

DSC_0096DSC_0097

I kept adding strips until I got to the last one.

DSC_0098

I trimmed the excess sequins and threads and then wrapped the last strip of sequins around the base of the shoe to finish it off.

DSC_0099

Last step was to put the bow back on.  I have to say, the shoes are pretty darn cute! and I would consider doing this kindof thing again,even if the shoes didn’t need it! 😀

DSC_0101
And voila! New shoes! A few thoughts on this project.

1. ribbons would look amazing on this.  Choose the same colours, contrasting colours, or varigated colours.

2. A strip of contrasting sequins would look amazing.

3. interesting fabric would be fun too.

There are so many options with this project, you just need to visit your nearest fabric/craft store for inspiration.  this would work great for adult shoes too.  Have fun!

**Some more thoughts on this project**
I found that after she wore the shoes the first time, the sequins started flipping and bending etc so it’s started to look a little raggedy.  My thought is that I didn’t use enough glue.  If you are trying this with the sequin string, I would suggest being generous with your glue application so that when you put the sequin strip on, you have to push it into the glue so it catches the individual sequins to prevent them from moving.

One response to this post.

  1. […] Posted by Punkn in Tutorials, projects. No Comments So you may have seen my post previously where I attempted to fix my daughters shoes.  If you didn’t, here’s the original post. […]

Leave a Reply

