Spider-Patrick and Witchy Parker (thrifty costumes since I hate spending money if I don’t have to)

The Halloween costumes are done! well, almost, I still have to put some elastic in the boy’s spiderman suit but otherwise things are done.

Patrick is gonna be spiderman.  For anyone that knows him, this will not come as a shock.  He is enraptured with spiderman.  It’s gonna be a cold Halloween so I wanted to make his costume warm.

I used polar fleece and a pyjama pattern that had a two piece, footed pyjama.  I had bought a remnant of red fleece at work and decided it was time to part with a royal blue polar fleece sweater that I had purchased at Old Navy ages ago.  I traced out the pattern for the pj’s on wax paper so I could work out the design and not destroy my pattern.

I cut out the blue and red pieces using a spiderman toy as guidance.  I then pieced everything together and other than sewing on the applique and doing the hems, I did everything on the serger.  I then used black paint to re-create the spiderweb design.

Since I’m planning for him to wear this overtop of his shoes, I left the sole off the bottom of the pj feet.  After Halloween, I’ll sew the soles on and he will  have nice, warm spiderman pj’s! (The pants will fit better once I have the elastic in the waist and ankles).

PA180049

PA180050

Parker decided she was going to be a witch.  I had some variegated green satin with gold sparkles on it that was leftover from a dress I made a few months back.  I made her a witchy dress from that and a hat as well.  I bought some spiderweb fabric from work ($1.99/meter! and I only needed about .6 of a meter)

I used the spiderweb fabric to make a cape, sleeves and decoration on the hat.  I’m going to have her wear a long sleeve shirt and pants with her costume so she wont’ freeze to death but I don’t think that will detract from the outfit. 🙂

PA180052

PA180053

All in all, I think I spent under $10 bucks total to make these. 

Cost breakdown:
Green satin fabric- $0 (on hand)
Blue fleece sweater- $0 (on hand)
red fleece remnant- $3
spiderweb fabric – $1.50
black paint – $0 (on hand)
interfacing for the hat – $1 (clearance)

Even if I had to pay for all the materials I probably would have spent between $15 and $20 dollars total.  Not too bad considering the costumes in the store are about that much each. 🙂

Leave a Reply

